Skirt Sewing Frenzy (No Zippers Necessary)

We leave for our six month adventure in just 32 days. So what have I spent the last week doing? Sorting? Culling? Cleaning? No. Sewing skirts.

It all started last Thursday when a friend mentioned over coffee that she had once made a wrap skirt with velcro instead of a tie. It was like a light-bulb of possibility went off in my head. I made a wrap skirt last year but found that the tie annoyed me. I’ve been wanting to make an a-line skirt but the thought of sewing a zipper put me off. But velcro! Of course. As soon as Ed was napping that day I cut one out.

I made a skirt.

After that one I did a little online research and came up with another zipperless a-line pattern. With pockets!

I made another skirt! With pockets!! This one has elastic at the back. #stillscaredofzippers #nothemmedyet

That was a success so I made two more. Lillian requested one the same but we’ll try not to wear them together.

Skirts 3 & 4 for the week. (We'll try not to wear them at the same time.)

I have more ideas swirling in my head (a fuller version of the pocket one) and more fabric ready and waiting (these were all made with stash) but I’m thinking I probably need to focus on the task at hand now. I mean, how many skirts do I really need to pack?

4 Responses to “Skirt Sewing Frenzy (No Zippers Necessary)”


  1. 1 tricia June 7, 2013 at 12:58 pm

    LOVE the matching skirts – gorgeous colour and pattern :-)

  2. 2 Francesca WritesHere (@FrancescaBlogs) June 7, 2013 at 9:15 pm

    You and Lillian should SO wear them together! I hope you have an amazing adventure :-)

  3. 3 Suzy June 8, 2013 at 9:16 am

    What great skirts! They will be so comfortable for traveling, and I love the prints you chose.

    And how exciting that it’s such a short time to your trip!

  4. 4 Sally June 9, 2013 at 10:48 am

    Loving all your fabric choices. Ace.


I love comments! Thank you.

avatar small

Archives

wordpress visitor

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 43 other followers

