My Creative Space

I’m joining in the My Creative Space link-up for the first time today. Hello!

Earlier this year I was invited to join a craft group that meets every Tuesday night. It’s fab, and it means I have to have a crafty project on the go every week so I’ve been getting more done. Mostly I’ve been working on crochet or knitting projects which are nice and easy to carry. Blue Magic is not the most portable of machines and would be a bit heavy to lug around the corner every week (yes! We meet just around the corner. It’s perfect.) But last Sunday we had a special craftapalooza day. A hall was rented for a whole day of sewing (grand total cost per person = $2) and Blue Magic had an outing.

Here she is meeting a younger relative:

Old Singer New Singer #craftapalooza

Blue Magic and I sewed some wee baby pants from Rae’s basic newborn pants pattern. They’re cord and so so cute.

Finished! #craftapalooza

I also turned an op-shopped pillow case into a skirt for Lillian. So easy. All I had to do was cut it off to the right length and add in the elastic. Everything else was already there and there was even no flappy pillow case bit to deal with. It had ties instead which I just cut off.

Pillow case skirt #craftapalooza

After these accomplishments I started a wrap skirt for me. Sewing a skirt for me has been on my to-do list for a few years now. It will be finished this year! I got half way before time was up.

If you’re on instagram check the #craftapalooza tag for more photos of the day from some of the other crafters there. I can’t wait till the next one!

6 Responses to “My Creative Space”


  1. 1 Ginny Sturdy August 2, 2012 at 7:55 pm

    What lovely fabrics you have used. Of course here in England pants are something else altogether!

  2. 3 Alexis August 3, 2012 at 9:32 am

    So cute! I wish I had the energy to sew…
    (by the way – I keep failing to comment on your blog as I have to login to wordpress and I always forget my password so keep loosing comments, I am here, reading along though)!

    • 4 Madeline August 4, 2012 at 2:57 pm

      No worries! You shouldn’t need to login to wordpress to comment though. You should just be able to do name/url. Is that not appearing as an option?


  1. 1 And breathe… « The things we do Trackback on August 14, 2012 at 3:57 pm
  2. 2 Pick up and knit (or crochet) « The things we do Trackback on August 18, 2012 at 11:29 pm

I love comments! Thank you.

avatar small

Archives

wordpress visitor

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 43 other followers

